Complete beginner - first questions re camper (1 Viewer)

Rogward

Free Member
Oct 27, 2015
Brighton, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Toyota Hiace LWB Hitop
Exp
Hi all

I've recently bought a Toyota Hiace LWB conversion - pic below. Never had a camper before and am completely baffled by quite a few things, hence joining this fantastic site. :)

alan in a field.JPG

I've bought a hook up cable and this morning connected it to the van to see if I can check what's working. he electric side of the fridge switches on, and the internal lights do as well. All good.

I then switched on the tap/pump switch below.

switchbank1.jpg

Lots of gurgly whirrings and then rusty water everywhere squirting in the power box and streaming out and over the van. The top had come off what I think might be the pump? Pic below.
waterpump1.jpg

Cleaned it all up - it was very mucky - and then pushed the top back on. (It's actually on better than in this picture following)
waterpump2.jpg

Then found this valve(?) the other side of the wall to where the pump(?) is - I guess this should have been opened before I turned the pump on?
watervalve1.jpg

This pipe leads to the sink.
sink1.jpg

There is an external filler cap for the fresh water, which I assume goes to a tank somewhere.

My questions are;

1) Does everything need to be open before I turn the pump on at the switch? Should the top of it have pushed off like that? It doesn't seem all that firm when in place.

2) What's the best way to get all the muck out of the system? Is there a good way to flush it out?

3) Any other tips/help/observations?

All advice most gratefully received. Thanks in advance . Back to the mopping up :)

Attachments

• sinkandstove1.jpg
    sinkandstove1.jpg
    131.4 KB · Views: 38
OP
OP
Rogward

Rogward

Free Member
Oct 27, 2015
Brighton, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Toyota Hiace LWB Hitop
Exp