Free Member
Sep 25, 2015
midlands
Funster No
MH
just about to get one
Exp
im a newbie
hi all we have just returned from our first trip in our first ever motorhome (2 nights) when we went to leave it would not start and there fore had to get a jump start. What type of solar panel does anyone recommend to trickle charge? Wattage etc?
Thanks in advance
Dave

Badknee

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2014
notloB
Funster No
MH
Vantage Neo
Exp
Living the dream.
First thing is to get your new to you battery checked out. Ours unfortunately stands for weeks due to work getting in the way but fires up every time without any charge whatsoever ;)

Bluestar

Free Member
Nov 3, 2014
Brighton
Funster No
MH
Class
Exp
10 years.. On and Off
As above and depends what else you are running on the engine battery i.e. alarm, radio etc. if the battery is ok then solar will keep a "good" battery topped up, I have mine on 40Watts but might go to 80 next year. :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

MattR

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2013
Beds
Funster No
MH
Panel van
Exp
Years
How long was your vehicle left @davibubb ?

I thought that I had a short somewhere and it turned out to be the radio that was turning itself on and draining the battery.

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Before spending on solar check why your battery went flat as 2 days is no time at all. When we're due to go away we always put the MH on mains for a couple of days beforehand to ensure the batteries are full - we do have a solar panel too but obviously if the weather hasn't been great then the input might not have kept them fully charged.

Does the battery go flat so quickly at home?

mick noe

Funster
Deceased RIP
Apr 14, 2009
near Boston Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
low line
Exp