Buying a 5th wheel (1 Viewer)

F

fishermanrus

Deleted User
Hi

I am new to all this and I was wondering where is a good place to buy a 5th wheel unit from that can be pulled behind a European or Jap Pick-up and does it have to be 7.5 ft wide or can you have an 8 ft one? what are the regulations????

dazzer

Free Member
Jul 30, 2007
In my house
Funster No
MH
Virtual RV!!
Exp
10 Years
There a few places in the Uk as far as i know and i think there is 1 manufacturer (the 5th wheel company) that actually manufactures here in the UK.

Most are USA imports that are converted to UK electrics.

The main issue is not the 5er but the tow vehicle unless you are buying a very small uk made 5er i would give very serious thought to the idea of buying a Jap/Euro pickup. Anything over 27ish feet long or with a slide out is going to seriously test a non USA pickup.

Im sure loads of folks on here are going to jump onboard any minute telling you how there Nissan Nivara tows a 30 foot 5er with no problems but the simple fact is they Jap/Euro trucks were never built to tow such a large heavy trailer, yes you can beef up the suspension, and chip the engines and uprate the brakes etc etc etc but why not just buy the right vehicle for the job in the 1st place??:Doh:

USA pickups have been towing 5ers for over 30 years, they are built for the job on heavy duty chassis which large engines, heavy duty transmissions and brakes. Yes they use a bit more fuel but at least you will be able to get up a hill without thrashing the living crap out of it and you KNOW its fit for the job.:thumb: