Free Member
Sep 2, 2015
Northamptonshire
Funster No
MH
Searching, searching ...
Exp
Complete beginner
Been reading lots of advice where people say 'get the layout that suits you' when buying MH (still in our sights but probate from mum's estate and lack of time to search aren't helping). But how will we know? We 'think' that we would prefer a bit more seating than bed area, but dunno if making up a bed each night will be a ball ache. Don't think we'd need a big garage (but that could be famous last words) and I've quite liked the one or two mohos I've seen that have got rear kitchens. What experiences have you had that have helped you to decide on the right layout for you?

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
We have the rear "u" lounge with front dinette.. Autotrail Apache 700.
For us it's ideal as we have lots of space in the day/evening. The wife wont use the overcab bed but to make up the lounge into a bed takes us about 90 seconds ( YES !!! Sad but we timed it once)...
Does not give us any real issues, big bed at night and lots of lounging space at other times. The front dinette is left free for meal times. When just the two of us we have plenty of room.

Often we take the grandkids and the rear lounge gives somewhere to sit while meals are being sorted down at the front.
The newer 700's have very big lockers at the rear and so ample storage space..
http://www.auto-trail.co.uk/model/apache/700

Others vans have similar layout but the Rear "u" lounge is more of a British van feature.

Upvote 0

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
There is no 'one size fits all' solution to motorhome layouts, which is why there are so many. We tried a fixed bed layout (Swift Voyager 685). It was great, but the bed was too small. Also, since we went to Wales in it, and it rained a lot, there wasn't enough lounging area, because of the bed!