Fiat Carioca 656 - dometic fridge (1 Viewer)

Daviedubs

Free Member
Sep 25, 2015
midlands
Funster No
MH
just about to get one
Exp
im a newbie
Hi all - we purchased our first motor home last week so please bear with me if I seem to ask some basic question!!

When trying to work out how to operate the dometic fridge I switched it to the 12 volt setting and no light came on so assume it is not operational? I haven't had chance to investigate....or even know where to start!!!
Anyone give me some pointers on what to look for?
Thanks in advance

OP
OP
D

Daviedubs

Free Member
Sep 25, 2015
midlands
Funster No
MH
just about to get one
Exp
im a newbie
Doesn't it run off the leisure battery?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
Doesn't it run off the leisure battery?

No, it would drain the leisure battery pretty quickly if it did. As gus-lopez says, 12v is only intended (and wired) for use when driving. Once you stop driving, switch it to gas (or mains electricity on a campsite), unless you're on a ferry or Channel tunnel train.

Before any trip, chill the fridge and contents in advance for a day or two - 12v will only maintain the fridge's current temperature, it won't make it any colder. Better still, put a couple of ice packs in the freezer compartment and transfer them to the main fridge for any long journey or if the outside gets hotter than normal UK summer temperatures.

We have an '05 Carioca 656, which we bought new - we've been juggling and coaxing the Dometic for ten years now.

OP
OP
D

Daviedubs

Free Member
Sep 25, 2015
midlands
Funster No
MH
just about to get one
Exp
im a newbie
Thanks for the info - apologies for possibly asking basic questions but it's all new to me!!

OP
OP
D

Daviedubs

Free Member
Sep 25, 2015
midlands
Funster No
MH
just about to get one
Exp
im a newbie