Free Member
Apr 19, 2009
Bristol
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
not long in this one
Hi to you all , hope everyone is enjoying the good weather , right then , myself and the better half are off to france on the 28 of june for 2 weeks , it is our first trip away in our old motorhome , as i am new to this is there anything i need to bring ,ie cable for electric hook up , is it the same over there , do i need to do something to my lightd etc etc any advice would be well recieved
cheers
paul

Geo

Trader - Funster
Jul 29, 2007
Mansfield,Notts
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Tracker FB
Exp
45 +years with breaks
Hi Paul
some of the hook ups in France are the same some are not,
you will need a euro 2 pin plug on a short lead with a blue 16 amp socket on the other end Ie a euro to uk converter, you can buy them ready made from and camper shop.
some folk might warn you of reversed polarity in France and you should really check it before you plug in,(recomended ) but not vital, things will work normaly. you should also take a good selection of hose pipe tap conectors and about 30 foot of hose more, if you have space
Headlight beam benders are a requirement for France, if you find fitting them complicated pop into your local MoT station and ask them to set them up on the beam tester, If the guy has never fitted any, tell him you are aiming to get rid of the kick off to the left and leave just a flat line at the top of the light pattern,in that language he will know what you need him to achive:thumb:
Bon Voyage
Geo

Last edited:
Sep 27, 2007
Shropshire based
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
started in 2001
France - first time

Hi Paul,

What Geo says is good advice, I also take a 2nd hook-up cable, some EHU points can be more than 25 metres from your pitch.

We also put our High Vis waistcoats over the back of driver and passenger seat, so the local force can see you have them. If stoped on anyroad by the authorities, always put your highvis on BEFORE steping out of your rig.