Travel cards and the exchange rate (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Having never been a card user in so much as I have not had a credit card for ten years I/we recently got a Post office travel money card.

But I have a couple of questions regarding these cards.

Firstly if I top up at today's rate and buy say 500 euro the 500 euro stays just that irrespective of any exchange rates ? May be a daft question but best to ask.

I've had a wee nose round the net and its predicted the pound will weaken so I'm thinking its prudent to buy a heap of euro as we will use them up no doubt.

How many study form RE the exchange rate and buy when it at a good rate ?

What are peoples opinions on how rates will go ?

Lastly we got our card in haste as we dint even know about them till we got great advice here ! We were going to take a heap of cash euro with us on or first trip a couple of monts ago or rely on a debit card at cash points.. Neither are or were a good idea ! So which card should we look to acquire or should we just stay with the Post Office one we have just now.

Thanks,

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
Firstly if I top up at today's rate and buy say 500 euro the 500 euro stays just that irrespective of any exchange rates ? May be a daft question but best to ask.

Yes. You are buying Euros at the rate on that day and they are held on the card until you spend them.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
Cards like the Post Office one are pre paid cards, in that you load them up with Euros and spend them as you go along.
The exchange rate is set at the prevailing rate at the point at which you transfer your funds into the account.
We opted for the Easyjet card originally as Caxton were not accepting new applications. However we are likely to get a Sainsbury bank one as it allows two cards on the one account.

D