Free Member
Oct 2, 2015
Banbury
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Have never driven an automatic before but am going to look at an automatic auto trail Navajo, just wondered what other people's experiences of driving an automatic are and what any negatives or positives are. Thanks.

Doctor Dave

Free Member
May 18, 2015
Wiltshire
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
7 years followed by a break of 11 years and then 4+ years but given up now
Have never driven an automatic before but am going to look at an automatic auto trail Navajo, just wondered what other people's experiences of driving an automatic are and what any negatives or positives are. Thanks.

No negatives, only a much more relaxing and less stressful drive. (IMO)

Dave

Upvote 0
Apr 25, 2012
Near Truro, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
We've had three vans, all manual, but a couple of years ago when we last changed our car, we bought an automatic diesel, 2ltr. I hadn't owned an automatic car since 1980 when I had a 3 litre Capri which drank petrol at an alarming rate (around 18-20mpg). The car we have changed my mind about autos. Mpg over 50 and so easy to drive. So when we do change this vanit will be for one with an automatic box, no question.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
Automatic, no question.

Positives

Relaxing, comfortable, hassle-free, stress-free, less tiring. So much easier on hilly going (Highlands), navigating through fiddly unknown town centres, and in stop-start traffic.
We have Comfortmatic which, if you want to use it this way, can easily be knocked up or down a gear, tipped into manual when you want to stay in (eg) first gear around campsites, or into the "UP" function which means it holds down a gear on steep upward hills.

Negatives

Not found any yet!

Upvote 0

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)