Austria (1 Viewer)

Oct 12, 2013
Filey
Funster No
MH
N and B Flair
Exp
Since 2014
I am a little confused about travelling through Austria.
We are a tag van, and 5t.

We are planning to go straight thro Austria, on the motorway , without stopping.

Do I need a go box, where do I get one.

As always thanks.

Weinsbergaman

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Wirral, North West England
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
You do need a Go Box if you use their toll motorways and you can purchase it from any service station before entering Austria (y) I drove our Tag through Austria not touching any toll road with no trouble at all. Some of the nicest scenery I've ever seen and we will be going back there in the future ;)

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
That's wrong I'm afraid. You can only use a vignette if you are under 3500kg.

Over that to use the motorways you have to use a GoBox. You need to buy it preferably before you get to Austria. They are available at motorway services on pretty much all the routes to Austria. You have to get a prepay one which will cost you €80. You can cash it back in when you leave if there's anything left on it.

If you can avoid motorways completely you don't need anything but this isn't always possible, it depends on your route so you need to be careful. For example the Brenner Pass route from Italy is toll immediately. It isn't possible to use this route without paying.

More info here: Broken Link Removed

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Weinsbergaman

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
That's wrong I'm afraid. You can only use a vignette if you are under 3500kg.

Over that to use the motorways you have to use a GoBox. You need to buy it preferably before you get to Austria. They are available at motorway services on pretty much all the routes to Austria. You have to get a prepay one which will cost you €80. You can cash it back in when you leave if there's anything left on it.