Seatbelts in Rear-Lounge motorhomes (1 Viewer)

Jem Cotton

Free Member
Sep 1, 2015
Isle of Man
Funster No
MH
Just Looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie, having hired a van for a couple of weeks to help find out what works and what doesn't for our needs.

For most trips we'll go as a couple, but we'll occasionally take our grand-kids on excursions. As my wife doesn't really get on with the over-cab bed configuration, we favour a rear lounge (U or L shaped). However, it seems that just about all the vans I've seen with rear lounges have only 2 travelling seats, which means the kids can't travel with us !

Does anyone know of any exceptions to this rule - or of course if it's possible to retro-fit some extra belts to the rear seats ?

Thanks a mill in advance, Jem

Sep 10, 2013
Chelmsford Essex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Getting better
We have a Geist Spirit with seat belts factory fitted into the rear U shaped lounge. The vans are marketed under the Geist and TEC brand names and manufactured by LMC.
The seat belts work fine and are complete with associated back rests and are all folded away when not in use so as not to clutter the space.
However it does mean that any rear passengers are a long way from the driver which can be both an advantage and a disadvantage depending on how well behaved they are!!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
For most trips we'll go as a couple, but we'll occasionally take our grand-kids on excursions.

Don't compromise your 99.9% usage for that 0.1%.

A MH is a very very confined space, no privacy, you can't fart in the toilet without sharing it with all, so not brilliant for "family" holidays. Add in weight of grandchildren and the possibility is you'll be overloaded as they grow up.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
J

Jem Cotton

Free Member
Sep 1, 2015
Isle of Man
Funster No
MH
Just Looking
Exp
I'm a newbie