Wild Camping Habitation Batteries (1 Viewer)

DJK

Free Member
Jul 29, 2015
Bury Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr E645
Exp
I'm a Newbie
I’m looking at doing a bit of wild camping and wondered what everyone thought about the batteries.

I’ve currently only got a 85AH habitation battery and was thinking about having 2, now do I go for another 85AH and have a pair the with the same AH or do I upgrade and put 2 x 110AH to be safe for the telly etc.

Your thoughts please

Don Quixote

Free Member
Jul 29, 2012
Lost in La Mancha, Spain
Funster No
MH
VW T6 Campervan
Exp
Not long enough, but a little common sense helps..........
Some reading for you, which will help you understand batteries:

Broken Link Removed

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Battery capacity doesnt matter, your charger only sees the combined capacity as one battery....85ah plus 110ah = 195ah battery.

Age DOES matter, a failing old one will reduce the usable total capacity of both.

Bite the bullet and buy 2 new ones.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
Posted previously -

It depends on how you use them.
From my two 95A battery's I can watch TV ect for 3 hours a night without flattening the batter'y.
I don't consider a 4W loss to be significant.
I have 240V Smart TV and I am pretty sure you couldn't buy one on 12V. This TV also allows me to connect all kinds of USB devices with an HD picture and HD sound. A 100Gb hard drive full of films and TV series is a great bonus when you can't get a TV signal.
Driving to our next stop over the next day always fully charges battery's again.
We never use sites but have been known to run the engine at tick over for a couple hours if necessary and its still cheaper than a £20+ a night camp sites.
I wouldn't be without one because it provides so many more power options.

Jul 23, 2013
Scotland
Funster No
MH