Free Member
Aug 23, 2015
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
My husband and I want to buy a new motorhome and are moving to Spain next week. Unfortunately we won't be able to get to Dusseldorf show. I would love to have a Rapido 660FF or similar layout but would like to see them first. We are both Olympic Gold Medal snorers and although it will just be the 2 of us, we need separate space so that we can get a proper sleep. Is it best to buy in Germany where we can see lots of different makes and models, or should we buy in Spain to avoid paperwork problems.

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Best get to Spain first and check out all the import rules and costs. If it's left hand drive, hab door on the correct side and as new it will have a Certificate of Conformity then registration should not be an issue. However I know there are import taxes based on the retail price etc and it's not cheap so do your Homework !!!!!

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Finnsgran

Finnsgran

Free Member
Aug 23, 2015
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
We're having enough hassle with pensions, banks, house selling and moving stuff to Spain, I think we will take the easy option and buy in Spain. This old head can't take any more homework!!!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994
We have bought 2 vans in Spain, the first New the other second hand.
Buying the new one was quite simple if you ( The buyer) had the correct paperwork.
Buying secondhand was also simple, but some taxation issues would need to be addressed, transfer of ownership, if I remember correctly carried an hefty 7%.
Also the market is very different, and choice could be an issue, check the net for stockists.
Our current Spanish registered van was imported before we bought it, we have the importation receipts, this in itself would make your eyes water.