Travelling with water in the freshwater tank ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Do you folk carry water when travelling ? We have up to now taken enough water for a brew in plastic bottles. But is it fine to fill the fresh water tank with say 20 litres and drive with that ?

I'm not talking about a full tank as that would be daft just enough for a brew every now and then.

Must admit I've driven with water in the tank and not heard or felt it sloshing about.

Are the tanks baffled ? And what do you do ?

Cheers .
3459062273.gif

Cal54

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 25, 2014
Southport, UK
Funster No
MH
Leisuredrive Renoir
Exp
Since 1996
As above, if going to a show I take at least half a tank. I can't imagine that you will notice any difference in the driving unless of course you have a huge tank.

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
travel full and fill /top up at every opertunity . even 10 litres here 10 litres there looks like you are only using a little amount . never use a hose as that looks like you are taking hundreds of litres to the public .

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
Another vote for full, we fill up whenever we can get within our hoses length can't be doing with faffing about with watering cans and stuff, when full we can easily go 3 days without filling so ready to settle down as soon as the handbrake goes on .
So as we leave a site we fill up the extra weight has never showed in any increased mpg which is the main usual reason for traveling empty.

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
I don't use sites so always travel full.

I also don't use sites and I only ever carry a quarter tank. I do have a 5lr water bottle for making coffee.