Leisure battery's.. How big ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Been reading a bit about leisure battery's. Not that our one is knackered its just fine..

But I'm wondering how big in amps these things go ? The jury is still out as to whether we will fit a solar set up. I think we will but having a really big LB might mean we don't need solar. As I say the jury is still out .

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
You can just keep wiring them together to make as big as you like but it can all get very heavy and bulky and in my opinion 200ah should be enough for most people, it all depends what you use and how you use it, do you drive regularly or stay parked for days on end, the langer you stay parked the more requirement for solar panel.

Martin

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
You must make sure they fastened down securely and venting to the out side.
I have 2 x 95a Varta Silver Dynamic AGM. They will run the 240v 24" TV for 3 hours without any problem.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

stcyr

Free Member
Apr 11, 2011
Normandie
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
On & off, since 1966 - fulltime since 2005
In our old Merc 608 we had an 80w solar panel & 2 110a batteries. These served us perfectly for 2 years fulltiming in West Wales - 2 winters included.
Now we have a 50w & an 80w panel with one 110 battery - been fine over last 4 years ....

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
the new calcium leisure batteries will get you 130ah in the same size as an old 110ah and not much more expensive. plus they have double the rated charging cycle life too

OP
OP
Charlie

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp