What on Earth Are These Switches?? (1 Viewer)

WinnieBago

Free Member
Oct 5, 2013
Northamptonshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Elegance i810g
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Hi Everyone

Just bought my Burstner Elegance, and there are some switches which confused both me and the dealer! I've been through the "handbook" (some handbook, more like a hand, arm and half-a-torso-book at 250+ pages!) and can't find any reference to them. Can someone help me?

They are on the passenger side bench, just behind the front passenger seat. There is a box on the right which relates to the Solar Panel. I hoped that the 2 switches on the left would be connected to this, but it appears not. When I set the yellow switch to "on", I get a drain on the leisure batteries (so if it is solar, then I'm worried!). The other switch appears to do absolutely nothing. Nothing starts working and nor does anything stop working.

This may be related to the fact that the solar panel itself doesn't appear to be providing any charge to the batteries. It's been sunny this weekend, and the batteries have been draining due to the issue I have with the fridge (I'll put this in another thread). I'm not technically-minded, so if anyone does have the answer could you give me the Janet and John version?!?

Lastly, there is a strange connector in the van. It looks like one end is a 230v mains connection, but there are 2 wires leafing from this - one which ends in a male connector and the other which ends in a female connector. I'm totally baffled - can someone put me out of my misery and tell me what on earth this would be used for?

Many thanks in advance for any help.

Stu
Switches Closeup.jpg Switches.jpg Connection 3.jpg

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
The plug/socket in pic 3 is a caravan N type or S type (cant tell which from the pic) which would normally be used for caravan/trailer road lighting (N type) or split charge to an auxilary battery (S type).