How Safe Are French Aires? (3 Viewers)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Talking to an old pal who used to have a MH today and was picking his brains about travelling in France.. He was not at all keen on Aires. He said he felt they were not the safest places to stay and felt a bit like a sitting target...

Now obviously an Aire in a rough area or perhaps in a supermarket car park may be best avoided ? This was his words not mine as We haven't crossed the water yet.

So rather than listen to his alarmist opinions I thought I would ask the MF massive .

Our plan is to use camp sites most of the time and Aires if we are struggling.

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010
Take a look at my aire galleries for a better feel of some varied examples.

Naturally anywhere remote and on your own is not too sensible but usually they are very busy

EDIT alarmists usually have no experience and talk hearsay (bo**ox)
DSC_2699-X2.jpg

Deleted User
Use you're common sense. (y)

The vast majority are superb and perfectly safe, some are obviously neither. If it doesn't feel right, then move on.

Our plan is always to use aires and then campsites if we were struggling. ;)

Edit - the only "sitting target" we were here is from the sheep scratching their backs on the van.

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Some Aires we have stayed on have been next to the Gendarme station. I you don't feel comfortable don't stay but we never have.

Motorway Aires are a different thing and possibly what your friend was thinking of.

Martin

Dec 11, 2011
Nr Hastings, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail Tracker RL
Exp
since 2010