Jul 31, 2015
Kent
Funster No
MH
"Don't own one yet"
Exp
" I'm a newbie"
Hi all,
My Ducato 2.0 JTD 11 (2003) has failed it's MOT with "slight play" in one front bearing, I've seen posts on here asking about bearing torque settings etc.. but now answer as to taper bearing or not.
If this is a taper bearing can I simply use a 41mm socket and give it a "tweek" or is it a replacement?
There's no noise or rumble from the bearing just a bit of slack (sleeved nut [knock to lock] not castle and pin)
Any help appreciated
John

OP
OP
J

Jacflash

Free Member
Jul 31, 2015
Kent
Funster No
MH
"Don't own one yet"
Exp
" I'm a newbie"
Hi Stealaway,
Thank you for your reply, every time I need to do something on this vehicle it turns out to be a real sod!! I've only just run it in! (207500 miles...:rolleyes: ) It's my only vehicle so it does get the mileage, so I shouldn't complain, just like buses all the expenses arrive at one time too! ..... so best course of action.... take it to "Fred in a shed" or get it into kit form and and have it pressed etc.. and do the rest myself..?
John

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
J

Jacflash

Free Member
Jul 31, 2015
Kent
Funster No
MH
"Don't own one yet"
Exp
" I'm a newbie"
PS...
Thank you for the link.....very informative
J

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
I have just seen that there seems to be a complete hub assembly on ebay. That could be a lot easier, just a matter of undoing the bolts!

OP
OP
J

Jacflash

Free Member
Jul 31, 2015
Kent
Funster No
MH
"Don't own one yet"
Exp
" I'm a newbie"
You're a star!

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs