Sep 19, 2013
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Hi there,

Looking into the possibility of getting a motorhome. My eldest 16yr old son has a progressive disability and uses a powerchair full time.

Going anywhere on vacation can be a nightmare unless we take 1/2 the house with us, so a motorhome seemed the best option.
But which one, and what conversions to make.

As the powerchair is large and heavy and he needs to be hoisted into it I need a lift to geting in via a widened door I assume, plus enough turning circle for him to get around, in at least the lounge area.
He will need hoisting on/off bed and toilet, so space for a travel hoist or (the more expensive option) get a track hoist fitted.
I need 3 belted seats (driver + two passengers) and additional clamping/belts for a powerchair passenger..

As they are close by, recently we visited CoachbuiltGB and saw their operation/facilities. We also tried the adapted Bessacarr motorhome they hire out for vacations, but it was too small. He got in the doorway but could not turn around much from there. I know they are adapting a larger one next year, which we may look at. The cost of their new larger models are very expensive though (80-90k) - much too much for me.

So I was looking at the possibility to get a second hand model and then have CoachbuiltGB adapt it, or soem other company.
I would say my max budget is about 40-50k including all adaptations.

So which model to start with. Not looking for LHD RV btw.

Thanks

Stagger.

Mel

Free Member
Oct 6, 2012
De Haan Belgium
Funster No
MH
Caravan LMC
Exp
Since 2010 Caravan since 1995
First of all welcome to fun

I cant help but wish you all the best in finding what you need.

I am sure you will find something.

But what about new then you will not pay VAT on the Motorhome.

Mel

Mel

Free Member
Oct 6, 2012
De Haan Belgium
Funster No
MH
Caravan LMC
Exp
Since 2010 Caravan since 1995