Is A Separate Tent Setup Within The Pitch A Pup Or An Awning, Or Neither? (1 Viewer)

Dave de

Free Member
Jan 3, 2015
Hants
Funster No
MH
Hi top
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all.
For storage reasons we wanted to pitch a tent next to our motor home, store bikes and outside equipment while we drive out and about. If we attach it, somehow, to our wind out awning will this be considered an extra charge for motor home plus tent.? What constitutes a pup tent, in real terms?

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs
Depends entirely on the site in question. Some will allow a pup tent on a pitch with a motorhome at no extra cost while other sites will (apparently) charge extra if you dare to wind out your Fiamma/Omnistor awning. Speak to the owners/wardens of the site(s) you intend to stay at.

D.

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
it depends what you want to use it for, let anyone sleep or live in it then it is an extra unit and charged as such, however as a bike cover, no charge, pup tent is considered to be a 2 man small ridge tent.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 27, 2014
mid wales
Funster No
MH
carthago chic i51.
Exp
We have never been charged for pup tent we pitch close to van as is easier to access
for bits and bobs .

Nov 24, 2008
Anywhere that takes our fancy
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since july 2009 And Still Going Strong
If it's just the roll out awning with no sides etc no charge but if it's got the sides and legs to the floor we would charge. We would charge for a pup tent on the pitch even though no one sleeping in it.
I think it does depend from site to site.

Jan 28, 2008
Dovercourt, Harwich, UK
Funster No
MH
Renalt burstner
Exp
7 years campers before that
we was on an aire in normandy last week and one of the french put a pup tent between ours and his van for one of his boys to sleep in

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007