Carrying And Securing Bikes. (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Bought our van last week and are booked to go south this week on Thursday. We are brand new (wet behind the ears !) so would like some advice on how the rear rack works. Only thing I know is that it folds down. So how exactly do I secure the bike ? Its just one bike . Also how do we lock a bike on so as to hopefully stop thieves from stealing it ? When out and about I would lock my bike inside but its while parked up on site or while in say a service area ? My bike is quite an expensive Specialzed and I dont want to loose it !

The rack.

Thanks !

kalamitty

Free Member
Nov 16, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since 89
  • fold the rack down, and place the bike in one of the channels and the straps slide along the channel untill in the center of the wheel base then strap around the wheelrim should just click in, then use the top holding device just unscrew the big knurled knob thingy and adjust to fit the bike crossframe. and then same again click the strap around the frame. i use a chain and padlock to lock it to the rack. also fiamma do a cover so no one can see the make of bike. hope this helps.

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
You could try to rig some type of personal attack alarm on it as well so that if it comes off the rack the pin is pulled and an extremely loud siren goes off. :)

Jan 28, 2008
Dovercourt, Harwich, UK
Funster No
MH
Renalt burstner
Exp
7 years campers before that
I drilled a hole in the back door and fitted an eye bolt for the cable lock to run through fiamma do suggest bolting the rail of the rack for better security

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Nov 2, 2008
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
PVC, S&L Iveco
Exp
45 years