Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Majestic 155
Exp
I'm a newbie
Grandson's here, mother and baby fine funsters sticker in window and tunnel booked for Friday, first time! Thing is we are going to Italy and we've decided to go via Alsace(after reading posts on here) would you recommend going through Switzerland and if so do you know a good place to stop, if not any other routes would be appreciated, thanks Kevin.

OP
OP
Kevingrc

Kevingrc

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Majestic 155
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks @Judgemental, but can you recommend a great place to visit on our way through, thanks

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

wingman

Free Member
Feb 10, 2013
Romford, Essex
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt Lo-Profile
Exp
Since 2012
Hi Kevin,
Not sure if this helps, but I did that route last year, but to Lake Maggiore, not Garda. We stayed in Eguisheim and got the bus in to Colmar. Eguisheim is very quaint and has its famous rooftop Storks.

We stayed at Les Trois Chateaux campsite, because it's only 500m to the town centre. Campsite was not 5 star, but adequate.

Went through Switzerland into Italy over the mountains. Fabulous drive. Very picturesque, but plenty of gear changes.

Don't forget that you have to pay for a Vignette if you go through Switzerland. You get stopped and the Franco-Swiss border at Basle and divided into those that have a vignette and those that don't. You pay there and then. There are other outlets that sell them too. Quick and painless, apart from the 40ChF!

Hope this helps?
James

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
We're going to stop at Broken Link Removed at Lake Luzern when we do the same trip in July based on recommendations from people on here.
I've spoken to them by email and they seem helpful. You can't book in advance but they say they will fit you in.

OP
OP
Kevingrc

Kevingrc

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Majestic 155
Exp
I'm a newbie