Free Member
Jun 2, 2015
Wales
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello everyone! We are seriously considering getting a motorhome and doing a year or possibly 2, touring around Europe when we retire in about 5 years.

Although we owned a caravan many years ago, I think it will be a steep learning curve to discover what is on offer in the motorhome world.

Looking forward to hearing lots of advice and seeing what you all get up to on your travels :eek:) I'm sure I'll find plenty of help and inspiration here!

Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
We too caravanned for years then got the van. My advice for what it's worth is to get the van sooner rather than later and get used to it, it is a bit different to the caravan, far less hassle on arrival/departure for one thing.

Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
Oops! Sorry, a big welcome!!!!!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Hi

Welcome.

And as others have suggested "just do it" you never know you might then have to retire even earlier.

OP
OP
Carolinej

Carolinej

Free Member
Jun 2, 2015
Wales
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for the welcome , everyone! (Is there a way of responding to messages separately?)

The plan is to sell up our home a few months before we leave and buy the motorhome then. We'll hopefully be able to get a small place to come back to eventually, too. Seems a bit crazy, but what the heck, you only get one life :) This is why I want to be fully up to speed when we go looking for one.

I am a bit clueless now, but have plenty of time to prepare :)

Nov 6, 2013
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B574DL
Exp
Since 2011 (tugger for 20 before that)
Hello :welc:

We caravanned for 20 years and changed to a MH 3 years ago - loving it