May 4, 2015
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Talbot Swift Kon-tiki
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi everyone,
I wonder if you could help me? My Talbot express 2.5 TD stutters and is hesitant under load seems to only happen when engine is up to temp any ideas? I await your guidance in anticipation, thankyou. :)

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2012
Devon/Cornwall
Funster No
MH
'Obby
Exp
Since 1968'ish
Dirty fuel filter possibly ? when was it last change and is it fitted /seated correctly ?? :think:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
J

John69

Free Member
May 4, 2015
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Talbot Swift Kon-tiki
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi I will order a fuel filter and change it thanks jollyrodger, where are the diesel heater hoses tonyidle if air was getting in wouldn't I have a leak?
Thanks for all your help

Dec 12, 2010
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
since 2011
Hi I will order a fuel filter and change it thanks jollyrodger, where are the diesel heater hoses tonyidle if air was getting in wouldn't I have a leak?
Thanks for all your help

As per another post on here recently, if you have a rubber priming bulb on your filter housing, you can get a split in the rubber which, although it doesn't produce a "classic" leak, draws air into the system, causing spluttering and loss of power.

OP
OP
J

John69

Free Member
May 4, 2015
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Talbot Swift Kon-tiki
Exp
Im a newbie
hi jockaneezer thanks for explaining that to me, is it like a diaphragm inside the filter housing? That can split like on a carburettor thanks for your help.

Dec 12, 2010
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
since 2011
It's the part listed as item 1 in the attached ebay listing that I was thinking of, the hand priming pump. If any of the other seals shown were u/s, I think you would see a drip or a puddle.

Broken Link Removed

OP
OP
J

John69

Free Member
May 4, 2015
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Talbot Swift Kon-tiki
Exp
Im a newbie