Free Member
Jan 11, 2015
Australia
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi all I am setting off on my first trip to Europe next week, I'm a little bit nervous about it,
Is there any must haves I should bring with me . It is my wife a 3 yr old and myself traveling.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I wouldn't worry but make sure you have a two pin adaptor for your electric hook up as you will need it in many places.

With a three year old you have the pass key - the French (and almost everyone on that side of the Channel) love kids.

You can drink the water, avoid Cheval meat in the supermarket unless you want to be adventurous. Also, unless your French is very good avoid traditional butchers as you might find nothing is on display and you have to ask. And mince will be minced for you. Easier in supermarkets if not perhaps very traditional. Bread you do buy if you can from a proper bread shop.

That's it really. Just drive on the right and be mega-careful in towns as cars may pull out from the right without looking - check right of way at every junction and don't assume because you are on the straight Road you have right of way.

And take a corkscrew. Yes, they really do still sell wine sealed with a bit of tree. That great Aussie invention, the screw top, hasn't really caught on yet.

Upvote 0
Apr 10, 2015
Australia
Funster No
MH
Big Marlin ,Elnagh, 1998
Exp
Motorhoming Europe since 2009
There are three things you need to take with you. Sense of humor, an open mind and a zest for adventure.
Don't worry you will be fine. Enjoy the experience.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

camocam1

Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Elgin,Moray,Scotland
Funster No
MH
bailey approach 760 se
Exp
since 2012
First week of our first time in France with MH and do far all been well but as we are over 3.5t can't get into some of the villages we wanted to visit
Take your time and enjoy and you will be fine

Upvote 0