LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
OK in Tech/Mech we've had the debate on spare wheel versus "Goo kit" and spare wheel won hands down!

Some questions arising:-

1. Has anyone ever had a puncture on their motorhome?
2 If so in your opinion would that puncture been repairable by aforesaid Goo Kit?
3. Has anyone ever actually used the Goo Kit themselves to repair a puncture? (successfully or not)
4. Has anyone without a spare wheel ever called out a breakdown service for a puncture?
5. Anyone carrying a spare tyre (no spare wheel) called out a breakdown service for a puncture?

The reason for asking all this is that I have just purchased a new motorhome with an end bathroom so no garage - plenty of general stowage space inside but not for a spare wheel!! :( Bike rack on back so cannot mount spare there and dealer thinks that there is no provision for a carrier on chassis - I am trying to contact manufacturer ( Knaus) to ascertain if this is true.

I would much prefer to carry a spare wheel if at all possible - your thoughts please

Thank you :)

Dave K

Free Member
Mar 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Pilote P740C
Exp
Since 2013
I've not had a puncture on the MH but I've had a few on vans before, some of the canned repair kits are just to get you home and someone told me that the tyre then has to be replaced as it cannot be repaired, I don't know how I woukd feel without the reassurance of a spare, we all hope we don't get one but....., I'm surprised any manufacturer gets away without making provision for a spare.