Solar Charge Leisure Battery Via 12v Cigarette Socket? (1 Viewer)

pengy

Free Member
Jan 24, 2014
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper PVC
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi,

I have a 2006 Adria Twin, which I'm really happy with - but (isn't there always one of those) the leisure battery is in a tiny cupboard. No problem there until I started thinking about solar panels, not the permanent fixed on the roof kind, but the small portable ones that are sold with crocodile clips to attach to the battery. Absolutely no way is it possible to get at the battery terminals easily enough to do that! Then I saw some panels that charged via a 12v socket. The van has a hela socket in the kitchen area which is live all the time.

A seller has assured me it's perfectly safe to attach a small portable solar panel in this way (20w), but I'm not sure. The power would have to go through the Electroblok and I really don't want to damage that! The panel would have a regulator fitted.

Has anyone any thoughts on this? I would appreciate comments/observation? Am I just being over cautious?

Many thanks

Yvonne (masquerading as a penguin)

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
To be honest, i wouldnt bother.

20watts equates to 1.5amps but it will be hard pressed to produce 1amp in very bright overhead sunshine....and the sun aint that high for long so you may get 4 or 5 amps in a full summers day, dawn to dusk...if it shines all day.

Apr 28, 2013
Alentejo,Portugal
Funster No
MH
Hymer A Class
Exp
Since the '80,s
I have one of the small suitcase type solar panels,it came with crocodile clips and a cig lighter plug,which I always use.
My van is 2000 without any complicated electronics but I cannot speak about newer models.
I sometimes sadly due to injury leave my van for several months with just the little panel left on the dash.It has always started fine!
Up till now that is haha.
Cheap enough to try maybe.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP