Apr 14, 2015
glasgow
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all

This is my first post and I'm an absolute newbie. I'm looking to buy a starter motorhome on an extremely tight budget, so inevitably I will have to make trade-offs about what I can and can't get. I'm wondering how high up my priority list to put the mileage?

There are many vans going on ebay with mileage well over 100,000, some over 200,000! As a car driver up till now I would be very wary of buying something that was that high, but I'm wondering if 'in general' you can expect more miles out of a motorhome engine? There may be no such thing as in general, but I thought I would garner some opinions if possible.

Thanks in advance

Paul

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Sorry, misunderstood your question...thought you meant MPG.

100,000 miles for a motorhome is unusual unless its rather old.

As long as they are properly and regularly serviced Modern diesels run for ever near enough.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
2.5 turbo diesel.......expect 25 to 28mpg average.

Remember you are driving a slab front vehicle with the aerodynamics of a house brick.
Think he ment total mileage not mpg, which doesn't make a lot of difference, it's how it's been looked after

Upvote 0
OP
OP
E

enitharmon

Free Member
Apr 14, 2015
glasgow
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Ha! Sorry but I'm not asking about mpg, I'm asking about miles on the clock: at what point should I consider a motorhome to be too risky a purchase because of how many miles it's done?

Thanks

Upvote 0
OP
OP
E

enitharmon

Free Member
Apr 14, 2015
glasgow
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie