LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
I have a 2.7 automatic A class Mercedes Rapido weighing in at about 3600 Kg and find the power to weight ratio completely satisfactory. I am looking for a new or nearly automatic motorhome of a similar spec. and they mostly have 2.2 Mercedes or 2.3 Fiat engines so I am a bit concerned that they may be underpowered and the 3.0 models are far rarer (and much more expensive)

What to do?

Any thoughts?

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
Our Rapido is plated at 3850 and has the 2.3 engine. I don't find it under powered at all.

Jul 12, 2013
The City of Henlow
Funster No
MH
Adria Supreme
Exp
Since 1980
In the past, the bigger the engine the better but over the last nine years engine design has improved enormously, with more economical and powerful engines that now have the capacity that a few years ago, would be associated with an average car. I have a standard 2.3 Fiat turbo that easily goes up the steepest hills, usually in sixth gear, pulling my 3.8 ton van far better than my old 2.8 litre could pull a much lighter van. I also get around 30mpg whereas my older van may get 25mpg on a good day.
Alan

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007
With the Merc, it depends on the specification of the 2.2 litre engine. Assuming your current Rapido is from the early 2000s, its 2.7 (CDi) has a power output of 156 bhp (nominally referred to as a 160 engine). The newer 2.2 versions can have various power outputs - 95 bhp, 129 bhp, 163 bhp. Check which spec is on any van you are interested in. I would think either the 129 or 163 would be good. The newer engines have better torque output I believe, and the new auto boxes have 6 (or more) ratios.