Seized flywheel? Left idle too long? (2 Viewers)

M

madbetty

Deleted User
Fiat Ducato 1.8 petrol, 15yrs old. Been left idle 5.5 months, only 600 miles since MOT and service in August 08. Tried 'bumping' the flywheel. Cannot put into gear when engine running. Can put into gear without engine running. So tried putting into fourth and fifth gear and starting engine with foot on clutch to 'bump' the presumed seizure out. Tried about 25 times till either the battery gave out or the starter motor (maybe). I'm a novice everything so did this on advice of neighbour. Any other top tips please? Thank you in advance.

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
Hi if the engine runs the flywheel is not siezed, sounds like the clutch has siezed, quite a few have this year for some strange reason. Never heard of it happening before but come across 6 already ts year. Leave the engine running a while and it may vibrate free

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
If you can get the MH on the road, try giving it a tow with it in second gear and clutch depressed. The clutch plate has stuck onto the flywheel.

Will kill or cure it.

Peter

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

American Dream

Free Member
Aug 20, 2007
Lincoln
Funster No
MH
?
Exp
?
We've has a particularly wet year and I guess this has taken it's toll on vehicles that have sat dormant.:Sad:

Worst case is You'll have to take the clutch off and free the friction plate.

I have used Brake cleaner before and then the start in gear method on the starter motor with the clutch depressed.

The cleaner is meant for use alongside friction materials and temporarily acts as a lubricant before it dries, leaving no greasy residue.Hopefully it will be enough to cut through the film of rust before it dries.Used Sparingly, It has worked for me before and saved a lot of extra work.