advise please, purchasing a motorhome (1 Viewer)

Angela Dyer

Free Member
Jan 7, 2015
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
autotrail Cheyenne
Exp
Good morning.
I am looking to purchase a motorhome. I am a beginner at large.
My requirements are
4 berth
U shaped lounge.
Shower cubicle...not one that showers the toilet, w/basin as well.
Turning front seats
Central heating hot/cold.
These are just the essentials.
Can someone let me know what make to look out for.
£24,000 or under is my hopeful price
Thank you kindly

nelly

Free Member
Aug 5, 2009
Sutton on Sea
Funster No
MH
Rapido 8090DF A Class
Exp
Since 2002
That sounds like a Hymer 634 not sure they still make it new but Rapido now do a model like that. Not sure what you mean by hot and cold central heating.

Nelly

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
Various makers produce such layouts. Have a look round local dealers and, if possible, go along to a show like Peterborough next month.
One tip to watch out for is to make sure the van you choose has sufficient belted travel seats.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
To get that layout , ie U shaped lounge , .. with 4 belted seats, you are probably looking at a six berth..

Double bed in the U shaped lounge , double bet in the dinette which should have at least two belted seats, and an overcab bed.. or drop down bed if an A class.

That makes it quite a large van .. do you have a maximum length and weight in mind ?

.. and also consider your driving license .. can you drive over 3.5 ton ? .. ie is it pre 1997 with grandfather rights ?

I don't think the Hymer 634 has 4 belted traveling seats..

Last edited:

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp