Free Member
Mar 26, 2008
UK
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs
Exp
Since May 2008
Hi, I'm fairly new to motorhoming having bought a 2004 Dethleffs Globetrotter Advantage last February. We had no trouble with either battery throughout the summer, even when hooked up for a week at a time. The trouble started during the very cold weather when the motorhome was standing on our drive for weeks on end. I had given it a 10 mile run every few weeks, it had started up with very little trouble, until one day the battery was flat ! When I opened the cab door the 'COBRA' alarm, we had fitted by a local company, went off and would not stop for about half an hour. I went out and bought a 'RAC' heavy duty battery charger and trickle charged the battery over 48 hours having first disconnected the negative terminal only. The MH. started without any trouble and I took it to our local Halfords where they very kindly checked the battery and gave me a printout showing that it was in good condition and the alternator was working fine.
However, since then, the starter battery goes completely flat within 3-4 days, when not in use. My worry is that this may cause long term damage.
My question is, should I keep the charger connected and on trickle all the time, or just charge it up every 3 weeks to give it a run ? Also, will this problem go away when the warmer weather comes back ?
Any advise would be appreciated, Denny.

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Niesman+Bischoff 79e
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 10
Hi Denny,
As im sure you are no doubt now aware. Cold can kill a battery in no time at all.
If the van is at home and you have the option to do so then I would personaly just use a trickle charger on it. Alarms do drain batteries, although prior to having mine fitted last week some people (not the actual fitter) claimed that there would never be a problem with battery following the fitting of an alarm.