Peugeot Boxer - unable to engage gears (2 Viewers)

Southleigh

Free Member
Jan 26, 2015
Bradford on Avon
Funster No
MH
Peurgeot Boxer Symphony
Exp
I'm a newbie
I am new to this forum but hope someone can give me some guidance. I purchased a Peugeot Boxer Symphony last Autumn and have used it a few times. It has done about 57,000 miles. Recently I started the engine but could not engage any of the gears to enable me to pull away. When I put my foot on the clutch and try to engage any of the forward gears nothing happens. When trying 'reverse' all I get is a horrible grating of the gears. When the van does drive gear changing is not too bad although getting first to second is sometimes a bit of a battle. Also, I always have to put the clutch peddle right down on the floor when changing gear.

May 7, 2013
RUK
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
On our 2nd MH now a AutoTrail Savannah which we're absolutely delighted with
I may stand to be corrected but I understand it's a hydraulically operated clutch. Might be worth checking fluid level and if master cylinder is working

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
seized clutch at the moment and the gear linkage needs adjusting. both common problems

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Southleigh

Southleigh

Free Member
Jan 26, 2015
Bradford on Avon
Funster No
MH
Peurgeot Boxer Symphony
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for your prompt replies. I had earlier popped into my local garage and described the problem to them as detailed in my post. Initially I had the usual sharp intake of breath and was told it was probably a gearbox fault which I found a bit hard to accept! They then backtracked a bit and said they would have a look at the van and give a more detailed diagnosis but admitted there could be other reasons for the problem. I'm doing this as the van is under warranty and I may need to make a claim if it proves expensive. I'll let you know how I get on.