Cost of converting to dual fuel (1 Viewer)

Josephine

Free Member
Jan 15, 2015
Milton Keynes
Funster No
MH
Baily approach autograph
Exp
We are thinking of converting our motorhome to dual fuel as we are going to be touring Europe.

Does anyone have any knowledge of costs, work and benefits

Thanks

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
I'm no expert but don't think that is possible with diesel engines .... and also would make it unable to use the Channel Tunnel.

Edit: sorry I forgot to say :welc:

Edit 2; I'm assuming you mean converting the engine to run on dual fuel and not the heating.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Judge Mental

Funster
Deceased RIP
Sep 2, 2009
Sarth London
Funster No
MH
Possl 636 FR panel van
Exp
1994 and beyond...
Welcome! You've lost me...what fuels do you mean? Gas plus electric? If you have gas heating and considering gas/ electric. It's an expensive job and a waste of money, different if ordering a new van...

Fit refillable lpg tanks, that way heating economical to run on gas and fit for all year use. Just bring a small 230 v blow heater for back up...

Edit: looking at reply above seems like I've got wrong end of the stick :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Am not sure about cost of conversion to duel fuel, but I have for the first time in my life started to run on petrol with LPG conversion. If You are doing big mileages then of course its worth while, but if not then it will take a long time before payback day. Am at the moment buying LPG in Spain at 59 cents per litre. At todays rate, thats 45 pence per litre.

Upvote 0

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
Can't be done on a modern diesel!