Using Internet when travelling through Scotland (1 Viewer)

Deleted User
I have seen a lot of comments on the forums about using wifi etc when touring around but I don't have a clue of what is needed and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction for the following requirement.
I want to be able to use my laptop occasionally when touring around Scotland. It will only be for occasional use. What do I need.
Do I try and link it to my phone
Do I need an adaptor to fit to the laptop to receive signal
Could I use a tablet instead of laptop and if so would it have to have any special features.
Any help would be much appreciated

Reactions: Jim

Cal54

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 25, 2014
Southport, UK
Funster No
MH
Leisuredrive Renoir
Exp
Since 1996
I am a tech 'numpty' but all I use is Mi-Fi. Mine is on contract with 3 as it is the only system I use even when at home. Really easy to use and for occasional use you could have a PAYG sim.
There has been a posting on hear recently about a MiFi unit available from Tescos for ÂŁ18 on the Vodaphone network with 2/4 g data allowance.

Somebody with the relevant knowledge will be along no doubt to supply the info you require, all I can say is that this simple system works fine for me on both the laptop and the tablet.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
You need to check if you phone contract/plan has an allowance for data. If it is a smartphone and you can, say, access BBC News when outside your home wifi, then you can assume it does have a data connection, but you may have to go into the settings and enable it.

Assuming you have a phone with a data connection and a reasonable monthly allowance, several hundred MB I would suggest then set the phone up as a mobile hotspot, which will be in the settings somewhere. It might be called tethering.

You then just log into your phone using your laptop's wifi, ensuring you know what the password is, which again will be in the phone settings.