Robberies abroad (1 Viewer)

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Thankfully we don't hear of many folks being robbed while abroad, but it does happen and with this in mind I thought it may be a worth while exercise to try and establish if there were any 'hot spots' that we should be aware of ..

To my knowledge no one has a list or the crime stats for this type of crime.. so I had the idea to compile our own list and plot them on a Google map, that way hot spots may show up.. and even if they don't it would show us where others had problems..

What do you all think, is there a significant number of incidents to make it worth while.. suggestions.. or comments ?

I am more than happy to compile a list and do a map ..

Jim

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
Hi Jim, as a security consultant, one of the things I do for a living is provide city and country threat assessments to companies. However for general (and sometimes very specific) advice, the Foreign & Commonwealth Office takes some beating. Just look at the crime section from the latest report about Spain. You can see that they name streets and plazas that have particular street crime problems, they go on to list the roads that you should be aware of pirates and give advice re bogus police. I would suggest that a regular tourist need not delve any deeper than these reports provide. They are excellent and are kept up to date. You can subscribe and if anything happens in a country you have an interest in, they will send you an emailed update. Well worth it:thumb:
Crime

The great majority of the 17 million visits made to Spain by British nationals are trouble-free. But street crime does exist in the main tourist areas.

Personal attacks, including sexual assaults and rape are infrequent. Nevertheless attacks occur and are often carried out by other British nationals.