Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I am a Newbie to motorhomes but have caravaned for years
Am ditching my trailer and am thinking of having the Unibrake system fitted to our VW UP. I had a long conversation with the man who runs it and he was very helpful, the only problem is that he is near Brighton and we live in the Lake District but we have thought of a way of getting it sorted without my wife having to drive the 300 miles behind me in the motorhome.
Anyway the reason for the post is to ask if anyone else has this system on their cars and if they are happy with it? The trailer was becoming a pain,literally as my wife now has hip problems so cannot be much help with pushing the trailer around.
I believe this type of A frame is legal in europe due to the servo braking system on the car being independant . The man who runs the operation says he has multi language paperwork ( not piles of Euros!) to show police if stopped abroad. We would probably only tow in France.
Before you ask I did think of changing my wife instead!!

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
I believe this type of A frame is legal in europe due to the servo braking system on the car being independant .

Not heard of anyone being stopped or fined in France .. yet.. but it won't be legal in Spain or Germany ...

All the A frame companies provide reams of multi-language papers to show there's is legal to use abroad.. it's not them that get fined.

Edit ..Just found this update from Caratow

Link Removed