Older A class or newer Coachbuilt?? (1 Viewer)

jaykay

Free Member
Aug 19, 2011
North Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 997M Auto
Exp
Virtually none ! :)
Hi all,

Getting close to having the capital to buy a new(to us) motorhome. We had an old Talbot a while back but want something around the £30k mark now. I would class us as total newbies though to be honest.

We really want an Aclass, but you seem to get a lot more newer coachbuilt for the same money.

The main priorities for us are Garage for bikes with fixed bed over, and a nice roomy lounge for four people. Wanting to do France and Spain on a regular basis.

Thoughts and recommendations?

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Have a look at second hand Niesmann and Bischoff Arto..

within your budget 2003 / 2004 . .. high quality vans made by Hymer.. they are normally well looked after

a few examples.. Broken Link Removed

Upvote 0

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
A class of for me, transverse bed over garage will give you a bigger lounge than two single beds.

Niesmann and Bischoff are well built vans, I would prefer RWD so that means the Flair in the N+B range, available on Mercedes or Iveco or even Fiat FWD on older models, the garage will be taller on the flair compared to the Arto but the vehicle will be taller as well and will push you into class 3 on many tolls in France (if you use them). The other thing to remember is your payload if you want to stuff the garage with gear and then have 4 people in the van as well.

Hymer are good vans as well of course.

Upvote 0
Apr 12, 2010
Bury St Edmunds, West Suffolk
Funster No
MH
Weinsberg Cara
Exp
since 2007
A class of for me, transverse bed over garage will give you a bigger lounge than two single beds.