Advice on buying a camera. (1 Viewer)

May 13, 2014
Maldon
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
since 2002
I'm looking to buy a camera ( present from wife) Basically I have very little experience of cameras. I had an Olympus SLR many years ago but never really had the time to use it fully. I'm now retired and looking to develop a new hobby so want something that has potential to develop from basic understanding a bit more sophisticated photography. In addition I don't want to lug loads of gear about. "laziness" is my retirement watchword. I have 2 possibilities, however advice on others possibilities would be welcome. (a) Fuji XE 1. Looks like it as loads of potential but maybe complecated ( b) Samsung NX 300.I have to say I'm not sure about WiFi on Samsung, also lack of viewfinder. However it does in my limited knowledge seem to have a reasonable spec.
Any advice would be very welcome
Solly

Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
My missus gave me a Nikkon D3100 couple of years back its not a bad camera and takes good pickies comes with a good self adjusting lens as well so to start with it's like an automatic as you get used to it you can start doing all the things the pros do and get some quite good results.(y)

motorhomer

Free Member
May 17, 2008
South Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
since 2005 (but 30 years caravanning)
A bit like motorhomes in that choice is very personal, whatever you are most comfortable with.

Having had a number of cameras over the years I now do not want to carry stuff about and insist on a small compact. But I also like a powerful zoom, and a viewfinder for bright light.

Bought a Panasonic TZ60 recently, its brilliant. Despite being very small it has a 30* zoom, a viewfinder, very powerful auto, but still full manual if you want it, and can save in RAW .

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997