Oct 27, 2013
Stoke on Trent
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I am a newbie
All

I want to compile a play list, for my own pleasure, of music from the 50's forward to now (well not the really modern stuff).

What is the best way to go about this.

Thanks in advance
JohnT

philw111

Free Member
Mar 22, 2009
Moray Firth
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr 484
Exp
Since 2004
Downloading lots of individual tracks is going to get expensive. Why not look for compilation CDs in charity shops?

Jul 5, 2013
Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
A few years ago I was going to get a USB turntable and record all my old albums (never was a singles person) in the loft onto the PC, complete with all the old hisses and scratches. Never got around to it. Nowadays most of those same albums are available on CDs or MP3 downloads much cheaper (in real terms) on Amazon than they were when I bought them as LPs originally. And no scratches or hisses. I have also added albums I wished I had bought at the time, but couldn't afford them, or didn't even know about them. Recent purchases include albums from Joan Baez, the wicked Picket, the Grateful Dead, Dylan, and Don Maclean. Nearly all well under a fiver.

Have a search on Amazon - it always amazes me the amount of stuff they sell.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Bailey58

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 23, 2010
Norfolk and Toftir.
Funster No
MH
Sold
Exp
July 2010 (ex tugger)
Me too, I did get a USB deck and started going through piles of singles before naming them and saving onto the Music folder. Then, as you say, life gets in the way, the deck and second crate of records got put back in the loft ne'er to be seen again. That was only the singles, there's about 600 LP's up their yet. If there's an odd tune I want from the 50/60's I work out the best value of buying one or two against the whole album. One good thing with Amazon, and it's happened more than once, they do tell you "You bought this album in 2003"! :unsure: