Free Member
Jan 15, 2013
East Riding
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie in my second year.
Not sure if this post is in the right section so please move it if it needs moving.

A while back I read a post by a member and in that post there was a demarcation line that put Motorhomers into two groups, Those who used their Mo-Ho as a Caravan and those who were true Mo-Homers. At the time I was quite new to Mo-homing and didn't understand the difference. It has only become apparent to me in the last few months of camping in our Mo-Ho. Mainly by observing the way others use the Campsite either in a caravan or Mo-Ho.

I have to say that on our first few trips away we were very much Caravan people as opposed to Mo-Ho People. We moved from a Caravan to a Mo-Ho, mainly because of our increasing unease towing on our increasingly congested road network and finding it more and more difficult getting onto our tight drive with the caravan and car (we have selfish neighbours that continually park overhanging out driveway) With the Mo-Ho its easier to get moving and the whole process of getting away for a couple of days is much more spontaneous and less stressful that it was with the Caravan.

It is all about being on the road quickly with the Mo-Ho. Gone are the days where you plan a route to get you on site at 12 so that you can spend the afternoon setting up the caravan, get the pump plugged in and the Aqua-Roll filled and waist tank plumbed in, the windbreaks set up etc. Now the holiday starts from the moment your off the drive and away down the road. If you want some Tea on route then you just pull into a view point and pop the kettle on. You sit in the van and enjoy your Tea and cake taking in the view. Then before you set off again you can use your own facilities if required to refresh yourself (no more nasty roadside rest-rooms).