Dandylads

Free Member
Jul 5, 2014
Funster No
MH
'Don't own one yet'
Exp
'We are newbie's'
We are just about to buy our first motorhome. As we want to spend the winters in warmer climes I think it prudent to buy a left hand drive however my partner is raising opposition, more through not having driven left hand drive vehicles. What can we do to see what is best for us? Are there companies out there that can help us with a test drive of sorts?

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
I dont think there is an issue either way.. It's what suits the driver..
Mine is right hand and never had an issue, most of my travels and in France, Spain and Morocco.
Would say that 80% of people that I have met / know who go overseas are right hand drive.
If you have a passenger then you have that extra set of eyes for roundabouts etc...
Only if I was a solo driver would I opt for a LHD....

Upvote 0
Apr 18, 2009
Englishman in Mid Wales
Funster No
MH
Hymer B584, A Class
Exp
Not long enough!
I drove a lefty car for a day and skinned me left hand trying to put the hand brake on, anyway I hated it so I think its worth a try first(y)

Upvote 0

cmcardle75

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 8, 2012
Reading
Funster No
MH
Riot Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2012
We are just about to buy our first motorhome. As we want to spend the winters in warmer climes I think it prudent to buy a left hand drive however my partner is raising opposition, more through not having driven left hand drive vehicles. What can we do to see what is best for us? Are there companies out there that can help us with a test drive of sorts?

Left or right doesn't bother me in the slightest. The main problem is the embarrassment when you forget which side and get in the passenger side and have to pretend that's what you meant to do in the first place...

Upvote 0

WynandJean

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 23, 2010
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
Bailey Autograph 682
Exp
Since 2010