Irlam, Manchester
Funster No
MH
Hymer
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Hi All,
I'm De'ana, Marks' (not particularly) silent other half :Smile:

As some of you may know we recently purchased a Hymer Van 522 and we are about to set off to the continent for about 9 months. I have been reading this forum avidly to get information and ideas and am really looking forward to going.

However, as I am a bit of a worry-wort, I feel we need to have a safe. It isn't possible to put our camera gear in a safe, they don't come that big but there is passports, cash, laptop, ipad, phones, paperwork....

I am aware that:
1. Lots of people go to Europe and don't get robbed.
2. If they really want your stuff, you can't stop the buggers
3. You can always resort to insurance to replace stuff

I have read every post I can find on this forum for ideas and and I can only see one place to install a safe. The garage is only accessible from outside, the batteries ect are under the cab seats, the water tank is under the dinette seat. Other posts suggest alternatives which I've taken on board, but I just can't see anywhere. I've poked and prodded and unscrewed fittings, moved things and measured. Believe me, there is nowhere else.

Anyway, no matter where we put it, Mark & I don't have the skills, the tools or the location to do this kind of work. We would have to remove a false board to have access to the chassis and push aside some piping and wiring as well. And then it would probably be best to reinstate the false board over the top as a shelf perhaps. I don't see that there is any point in buying tools for a one off job and we are staying with relatives in a terrace house so the only place to do the work would be out on the road. No thanks....