Just bought an old Hymer B534 (1 Viewer)

james12345

Free Member
May 13, 2014
Surrey
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all - my first post on here, so please be gentle.

My wife and I have just bought a 1986 Hymer B534 as our first motorhome.

I have loads of questions, mainly about how things work (and how things don't work!) and wondered if there was anyone close to Bagshot, Surrey who'd be able to spare an hour to go through everything with me?

The previous owners only really used it where there was a hookup, but we plan to be a little more adventurous with it, and I'm struggling with even the most basic of operation of all of the appliances. For instance, I can't get the 12v lights to come on (may just be a flat leisure battery), I also don't understand the control panel (it's all in German) to more major things such as an electric boiler has been fitted, yet we'd like to look at re-instating the Truma gas boiler.

Unfortunately the previous owners were selling due to ill health (quite serious!) so couldn't offer a great deal of time / knowledge to go through it all.

I'd be happy to provide tea / coffee plus travel expenses if anyone would be willing to help?? I did notice that the previous owner was very local to me, but I didn't take a copy of the name and address before the V5C was sent off :Sad:

James.

Carol

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 2, 2007
North Wales.
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
18 years s Motorhome (33years caravans)
Hi James, first of all you have done well finding fun for your information, it will be the best investment of £10 you will make.

If you don't get the info you need from this thread you could later try one with the heading does any one live in Suffolk, any other questions try to make the headings get the message across I am sure you will get the information you need.

You have got a good solid van the older Hymers are really well built, ask as many questions as you need that is what the forum is all about. :welcomefunster:

Upvote 0