OddSocks

Free Member
Apr 10, 2014
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Not wanting to hijack someone elses thread, I'll start a new one.

I have a 1990 Mercedes 208D with an Autotrail body.

Very underpowered. From what I have read the 5th gear was all but useless. But a previous owner has installed a turbo and intercooler and it has helped no end. I can make it up most slight inclines in 5th gear, but a steep hill is still 3rd gear territory. (Or 2nd!!)

I used a dose of RedX fuel system cleaner in my last tank. On todays run, and tankful later, it went most of the journey in 4th gear (I was on winding A roads, too slow for 5th) but I was amazed at how well it went, almost didn't have to change at all, just ran in 4th! More torque at low revs and happy on slight hills.

I have checked the air filter and it is almost new.

What else can I do to tweak performance? Bear in mind I am a total novice!

Apart from the little things I can do for myself - with your guidance, of course - I was also thinking of this vortex exhaust system which jezport posted about. If it can add the slightest oomph I would think it money well spent. Do you think it will work?

What other little jobs should I be doing to help bring some life back in to the old girl???

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Hi

Its never going to be a flying machine you know. If the turbo was done right with the fuel pump and injectors uprated that will be making a big difference already.

I have no experience with the Vortex system so dont know if that will help or not.

Martin

Jul 4, 2010
Essex / central France
Funster No
MH
Hymer Star Line 680
Exp
9 years
This will sound like a silly idea, but make sure your tyre pressures are at the correct inflation as all the little improvements add to a larger one.